Wall Lamps

The useful difference between wall lights is where the switch is. A pull chain on the fixture means the light works without a wall plate wired to it, which is why these end up beside beds and in children's rooms rather than on a landing nobody stands on.

  • Pull-chain or wall switch
  • G9 or E27
  • Adjustable heads
  • Hardwired to a wall box
Skip to results list

Active filters:

14 items
Column grid
Column grid

Filter

Active filters:

Wall Lamps — what to know before you buy

The adjustable models swivel, so you can aim light at a book and away from whoever else is in the room. All are hardwired to a standard wall box; sockets are G9 (7W LED recommended) or E27 depending on the model. $72.22 to $115.99. A wall sconce with a switch on the fixture is the whole point of this collection. The beaded pull chain means no wall plate has to be wired to it, which is why these end up as wall sconces for a bedroom and beside cots rather than on a landing. The adjustable models swivel, so a pull chain wall sconce can light a book without lighting whoever is asleep next to you. All are hardwired to a standard wall box, G9 or E27.

Sconces by how you turn them on and where they point

ModelSwitchHeadSocketPrice
Globe wall sconce, pull chainBeaded pull chain on the fixtureFixed globeG9, 7W max$104.46
Bear nursery sconceWall switchAdjustable iron armE27$97.89
Macaron bedside sconceWall switchAdjustable, wood baseE27$86.47
Vanity sconce, exposed globeWall switchAdjustable ironE27$72.22
Mid-century half-moonWall switchFixed opal globeE27$115.99
Fluted resin hallway sconceWall switchUp-and-down wash2 x G9$83.79

Who this is for

For freeing a nightstand, lighting a reading corner, or washing a hallway wall. All of these are hardwired — if there is no wall box where you want the light, this collection is not the answer, and an electrician is.

Related collections

Wall Lamps — questions and answers

Straight answers on sizing, fitting, materials and shipping.

Power, plug and wiring

Are these wall sconces plug-in or hardwired?

Every wall sconce in this collection is hardwired to a standard wall box. The Bear Nursery, Macaron Bedside and Vanity listings state hardwired with no visible cord, and the Globe Pull Chain and Fluted sconces hardwire as well. None of them ship with a plug.

Do any of the wall lamps come with a cord and plug attached?

No. None of the sconce listings include a cord set or a wall plug. The wiring is made off inside the mounting box behind the backplate, which is why the listings describe the look as having no visible cord running down the wall.

I don't have a junction box on that wall. Can I still fit one of these?

Not without electrical work. These fixtures connect to a standard wall box, so a wall with no box needs an electrician to add one and run the supply. If that is not possible in your home, this collection will not suit that wall.

Which sconce has a switch built into the fixture?

The Globe Pull Chain sconce switches with a beaded pull chain ending in a small wood teardrop. The Bear Nursery sconce uses a rotary knob on the lamp body. The other sconce listings do not state an on-fixture switch, so plan on a wall switch.

How does the pull chain on the globe sconce work?

The beaded chain hangs from the fixture with a wood teardrop on the end. Pull it to turn the frosted glass globe on, pull again to turn it off. It works without reaching a wall switch, which suits a bedside wall where a switch is awkward.

Is the Bear nursery sconce switched at the lamp or at the wall?

At the lamp. The listing states a rotary knob on the lamp body, so you can switch it where you stand rather than crossing a dark room. It is still hardwired into a wall box, so a room switch on that circuit also cuts power.

Do I need an electrician to install these?

Unless you are confident and permitted to do your own mains wiring, yes. Each sconce joins to the supply inside a wall box, so the work involves the breaker and live conductors. Local rules differ, and a licensed electrician is the safe default.

What voltage do these wall sconces run on?

It varies by product. The Bear Nursery, Macaron Bedside and Fluted sconces are listed at AC 90-260V. The Vanity sconce is listed at AC 110-240V. The Globe Pull Chain listing states AC hardwired to a standard wall box without giving a range.

Will these work on standard US 120V household power?

The listed ranges cover it: 90-260V for the Bear Nursery, Macaron Bedside and Fluted sconces, and 110-240V for the Vanity sconce. US household voltage falls inside both. The Globe Pull Chain listing does not print a range, so ask us before ordering if that matters.

Are these wall lamps dimmable?

The sconce listings do not state dimmer compatibility, so we cannot promise it. Dimming a fixture like these depends on the bulb you fit and the dimmer on the circuit, and many LED bulbs are not dimmable. Check the bulb packaging and ask your electrician about the dimmer.

Can the sconce be controlled from the room's wall switch?

Yes, if the wall box you mount it to is fed from a switched circuit, which is the usual setup for a hardwired sconce. On the Globe Pull Chain and Bear Nursery models you then have two controls: the room switch and the switch on the fixture.

Is wiring hardware or a connector block included?

The listings state how each fixture mounts but do not itemise the small parts in the box, so we will not promise a specific connector. Contact us before ordering if your electrician needs to know exactly what arrives; standard connectors are easy for them to supply.

Still deciding?

We answer every message ourselves, usually within one business day.

Ask us a question →

You may also like

View all
Stainless Steel Cutting Board, 304 Food Grade, Double Sided with Juice Groove

Stainless Steel Cutting Board, 304 Food Grade, Double Sided with Juice Groove

Stainless Steel Cutting Board, 304 Food Grade, Double Sided with Juice Groove

$49.99
Regular price  $59.99 Sale price  $49.99
Titanium Frying Pan, Uncoated, Induction Safe, with Tempered Glass Lid

Titanium Frying Pan, Uncoated, Induction Safe, with Tempered Glass Lid

Titanium Frying Pan, Uncoated, Induction Safe, with Tempered Glass Lid

$119.99
Regular price  $139.99 Sale price  $119.99
Backlit Plaster Wall Art, Japandi LED Ring with Walnut Shelf and Bud Vase

Backlit Plaster Wall Art, Japandi LED Ring with Walnut Shelf and Bud Vase

Backlit Plaster Wall Art, Japandi LED Ring with Walnut Shelf and Bud Vase

$349.99
Regular price  $399.99 Sale price  $349.99
Wall Mounted Vase with LED Backlight, Textured Capsule Panel and Shelf

Wall Mounted Vase with LED Backlight, Textured Capsule Panel and Shelf

Wall Mounted Vase with LED Backlight, Textured Capsule Panel and Shelf

$274.99
Regular price  $324.99 Sale price  $274.99

Sixteen fixtures, and they are not all wall lamps. Seven are wall sconces, five are E27 pendants on an adjustable cord, and four are flush mount or surface mounted ceiling lights. Everything here that documents its installation is hardwired to a standard wall or ceiling box, with no visible cord. Prices run $72.22 to $165.99, and there are 420 buyable variants across only 16 listings because the color range is the point.

What is in the collection

Counted from the productType and description of each of the 16 listings
Type Listings Where it mounts Light coverage the listings state
Wall sconce 7 Flat to a wall, 3.1 to 6.7 in out from it 3 to 5, 5 to 10 or 10 to 15 sq m
E27 pendant 5 Ceiling, on an adjustable cord (one listed at 1.5 m) Not stated
Flush or surface mount ceiling light 4 Flat to the ceiling Not stated

Fitting and bulbs

  • Hardwired to a standard wall box. No plug-in cord version exists in this collection. Several listings ask for a qualified electrician and a check against local code.
  • Socket is E27 on most fixtures, and the listings note that a standard US E26 bulb fits. One sconce is G9 with a 7W LED maximum.
  • Bulbs are mostly not included. Some listings offer a 7W or 12W warm or cool LED as a paid option.
  • An on-fixture switch exists on two listings only: a beaded pull chain, and a rotary knob.
  • Six listings have an adjustable head that swivels or tilts to aim the beam.
  • Voltage ranges given include 90 to 260V, 110 to 240V and 85 to 265V.
  • Materials named: painted iron, rubberwood, walnut, molded resin, frosted opal glass, travertine.
Starting price of each of the 16 listings. Median start is $102.22 and the highest single variant on the page is $165.99
Starting price Listings
$72.22 to $99.99 8
$100 to $124.99 8

Questions people ask before buying

Seven sconces, five pendants and four ceiling fittings: why is this called Wall Lamps?

Seven of the sixteen. The remaining nine are ceiling fittings: five E27 pendants on an adjustable cord and four flush or surface mounted ceiling lights, including a spotlight and a travertine hallway fixture. The collection is named Wall Lamps and a bit more than half of it is not one, so filter to the sconces if a vertical wall is what you are lighting.

Why are there 420 variants across only sixteen products?

Color. This is a macaron range and the finish choice is the product. One bedside sconce is offered in three shade shapes across thirteen colors, another in eight colors, a pendant in seven, a fluted hallway light in ivory, olive, terracotta and dark charcoal. Add shade size, bulb and color temperature choices on top and sixteen listings become 420 buyable combinations.

What is the price spread and is there anything under $70?

No. The cheapest listing starts at $72.22 and the most expensive starts at $124.99, with a median start of $102.22 and a highest single variant of $165.99. Eight listings start under $100 and eight start at $100 or more. This is a narrow, mid-priced range with no budget tier and no statement piece, which is unusual and worth knowing before you compare it to a lighting showroom.

Which of these is a reading light and which is just decoration?

Six of the sixteen have a head that moves, and those are the reading lights. The bear nursery sconce has a chrome swivel joint, the macaron bedside sconce swivels about ninety degrees, and the vanity sconce aims up, down or across. A fixed sconce throws the same pool of light wherever you mount it, which is fine beside a mirror and frustrating beside a pillow.

What is missing from this collection?

Anything that plugs into a socket. Every fixture here that documents installation is hardwired to a wall or ceiling box with no visible cord, so there is no renter-friendly option, no clamp light and no floor lamp. There is also no integrated smart or app-controlled fixture, and bulbs are mostly not included. If you cannot run wiring, nothing on this page will work.

Is a sconce a better bedside choice than a lamp on the nightstand?

A sconce if the nightstand is small or shared, a table lamp if you rent. A sconce gives the whole surface back and puts the light above the book instead of beside it, but every one here is hardwired, which means an electrician and a wall box. A table lamp needs no permission and no holes. The trade is floor plan against flexibility, not light quality.

Are bulbs an extra cost across this range?

Most of them. The listings that document it say the bulb is not included, and several offer a 7W or 12W warm or cool LED as a paid add-on instead. Sockets are E27 on most fixtures, which takes the standard US E26 bulb, and G9 on one frosted globe sconce with a 7W LED maximum. Budget for a bulb per fixture unless you tick the option.

Who fits these and what do they need?

An electrician, and a wall or ceiling box behind the mounting point. One listing says it directly: fit by a qualified electrician, and confirm the wall box, the switch setup and local code first. Voltage ranges given across the collection are 90 to 260V, 110 to 240V and 85 to 265V. Only two listings have a switch on the fixture itself, a pull chain and a rotary knob.

Is there a Houseland option if I want light and wall decor in one object?

Yes, in the Wall Art collection rather than this one. Twelve of the forty-one listings there are backlit panels that carry their own warm-white LED, a slim shelf and a glass bud vase, and six of those offer a battery power option, which is the only way to get light onto a wall in this store without wiring. They are a decorative wash rather than a task light.

Are Nordic macaron fixtures still a current look?

They have outlasted the trend cycle that produced them because the shape is plain and the color does the work: a painted iron dome or cone on a rubberwood base reads as Scandinavian rather than as a specific year. Fourteen of these sixteen listings are in that language. Whether it suits your room is a palette question, and the thirteen-color and eight-color options exist for that reason.